Terry Dresbach

Outlander Costume Designer

Reply To: On the Objectification of Sam, et al. PART II (added per the request of Terry)

Home Outlander Costuming Discussion Forums General Outlander Discussion On the Objectification of Sam, et al. PART II (added per the request of Terry) Reply To: On the Objectification of Sam, et al. PART II (added per the request of Terry)

celticlily
Participant

An interesting and important discussion! A few people have mentioned that they feel that Sam Heughan has encouraged (whether willfully or not) the negative behavior happening on Social Media. Having spent considerable time around children (5th and 6th graders) and even more time around teenagers (I’m a trained high school teacher), I have witnessed severe bullying and how kids react to it. Bullied children will try to laugh it off and make comments that fit with whatever is being said to them in order to protect themselves and to keep their tormentors at bay. Sam Heughan’s reported comments have that same feel- dealing with and keeping the bullies at bay. He has said many times that all this attention is new to him and he doesn’t really know how to deal with it. He’s overwhelmed (Wouldn’t we all be if faced with the same phenomenon?)

I am in total agreement with the majority of the people who have spoken in these posts that there is FAR too much attention placed on the sex scenes and it is brushing the artistic merits of “Outlander” under the rug. Here is a post I made about that on a similar thread on Diana Gabaldon’s Facebook page: