Terry Dresbach

Outlander Costume Designer

Reply To: OUTLANDER ISSUES ****SPOILER ALERT****

barbc624
Participant

[quote quote=3856]

<div class=”d4p-bbt-quote-title”>barbc624 wrote:</div>
I work in insurance which is a totally white male dominated industry. Same experience and attitudes.

The film business is horrible. Absolutely horrible. For such a “liberal” culture the gender inequalities are staggering. It is a very difficult business for someone like me, the daughter of a feminist union organizer to tolerate. So I don’t. It is a daily struggle, sometimes quiet, and sometimes not between me and “the business”, as I push back and demand that things be done differently. Pretty exhausting, when you already have such insane conditions, and a lot of those conditions directly exist because the costume department is a department of women and gay men, so you are screwed over before you start. And it is twice as difficult because you not only fight against the culture at the top, but the culture at the bottom.
Everyone in this business lives in terror of getting fired if they speak up, and women/gay men, obviously have been culturally indoctrinated to accept less than their straight male counterparts. Getting them to stand up and push back is almost impossible.
So I am just a “pushy bitch”.
[/quote]

My daughter is in the film business and I have heard the stories from her. More than once I have said to her “that can’t be true” or “that sounds like a soap opera” and she has assured me that it is a true story. She worked freelance for about 7 years on the production side on movies, tv shows, and lastly for a small development company, but when the company closed down last year she decided it was time to quit. She moved home and has spent the last year finishing up her screen writing certificate at UCLA, filming some shorts, and working on several screen plays with the ultimate goal of producing and directing one of them.